Terriers win Lincoln Memorial AE Title, News, Major Peewee AE - Jim Wilson Chevrolet, 2016-2017, REP (Orillia Minor Hockey Association)

Attention: You are viewing a team outside of the current season. Click here to view teams in the current season.
PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
Terriers win Lincoln Memorial AE Title
Submitted By Tim McConaghy on Wednesday, April 5, 2017
The Orillia Jim Wilson Chevrolet Major Peewee AE Terriers completed their season on Sunday winning the Lincoln 11th Annual Memorial AE Tournament in Beamsville.  The tournament win was the teams third championship on the season with wins earlier at the Jim Wilson Tournament in Orillia and last week in South Muskoka.

In the opening game the Terriers faced off against the Hunstville Otters.   Although the Terriers dominated play for most of the game and outshot their opponents 24-12 the Terriers would escape with a narrow 2-1 victory.   Ayden Bishop and Andrew Thorn tallied goals.

In the second game of round robin play the Terriers took on the Pelham Panthers.   Orillia would prove too strong for the Panthers out shooting them 39-6 and taking the game 3-0.  Jack Ormsby notched two goals, while Owen Banks had the other.  Noah Simpson added two assists.  Colby Small recorded the shutout.

In the final round robin game the Terriers faced the rival Glanbrook Rangers.   The Terriers defeated the Rangers in the final of the Orillia tournament back in November.  The two teams are very equally matched.  The Terriers built a 2-0 lead in the first on goals by Ayden Bishop and Kieran McConaghy.  The teams had a scoreless second period but penalties late in the third period would cost the Terriers as the Rangers added 2 power play goals.  The game would end in a 2-2 draw.  

With a round-robin record of 2-0-1 the Terriers grabbed the #2 seed in the 12 team tournament and advanced to the semi-final against the Woolwich Wildcats on Sunday morning.  The Terriers and Wildcats would exchange goals through three periods of play with the game tied 3-3 at the end of regulation time.  Overtime saw a 5 min 4-on-4 and with only 23 seconds left on the clock Owen Banks scored a breakaway goal to secure the victory and a place in the tournament final.  The OT winner was the second goal for Banks in the game.  Other Terriers goals were scored by Matthew Casselman and Andrew Thorn.

In the Final the Terriers took on the Grimsby Kings who were also undefeated in the tournament.  The Terriers came out strong from the start and never let up.  Orillia grabbed 1-0 lead through the first period on a goal by Ryan Lariviere.  They would add another goal in the 2nd and two more in the third to take a 4-0 win holding the Kings to only 10 shots on goal in the contest.  Other Terriers goals were scored by Jack Ormsby, Jonah Teahen and Connor Flannery.  Sam Sheldon recorded the shutout.

The Terriers defense core of Andrew Thorn, Owenn Banks, Nolin Derstroff, Peter Conway, Owen Johnston and Lars Derstroff would shutdown the opponents offense.  In the tournament the Terriers averaged only 13 shots against.   Andrew Thorn and Owenn Banks received tournament MVP awards for their efforts.

Offensively the Terriers received contributions from Owenn Banks (3g, 1a); Jack Ormsby (3g, 1a); Ayden Bishop (2g, 2a); Andrew Thorn (2g, 2a); Kieran McConaghy (1g, 3a); Matt Casselman (1g, 2a); Jonah Teahen (1g, 2a); Cayden McGinnis (1g, 2a); Noah Simpson (3a); Connor Flannery (1g, 1a); Ryan Lariviere (1g, 1a); Owen Johnston (1a); Nolin Derstroff (1a); Lars Derstroff (1a) and Peter Conway (1a).

This article has been viewed 1442 times.
View Another Team
View Another Category
Social Networking
Follow Us On
Follow Orillia Minor Hockey Association on Twitter
Manage Subscriptions
Signup to receive email or text messages for the teams you want to follow.
News ArchiveOther Recent Articles
  • 01
    16-17 REP - Major Peewee AE - Jim Wilson Chevrolet
    The Jim Wilson Cheverolet Major Peewee AE Terriers swept its way to a perfect 4-0 record to take the South Muskoka Bears tournament last weekend.  The tournament was played in both Gravenhurst and Bracebridge arenas and hosted 8 teams in the peewee ...
  • 13
    16-17 REP - Major Peewee AE - Jim Wilson Chevrolet
    The Winterhawks who finished 12 points ahead of the Terriers in league play would host game #1.  Ryan Lariviere got the Terriers started with a goal early in the first but in a back and forth game the two teams would exchange goals with the Terriers ...
Printed from orilliahockey.com on Friday, January 15, 2021 at 11:51 AM